The Five Love Languages: Acts of Service

The Sunday talk was “Acts of Service” which is the fourth love language from the work of Dr. Gary Chapman in his book The Five Love Languages. Each week we look at a love language and how it fits with the commandment given to us by Jesus “to love one another.” I am sharing a story about St. Francis of Assisi, who is known for making God’s love real in many different ways. He lived in Italy around 800 years ago. If you’ve ever seen a statue of a monk with birds and squirrels hanging around like they do for Disney princesses, you’ve probably seen a statue of Francis. He left his wealthy merchant family to live a simple life of nature, preaching, and good works. As you read this story look for ways that Francis practices these love languages. Saint Francis of Assisi took a novice (monk in training) … Continue reading

The Five Love Languages: Receiving Gifts

My heart is full as I pass the two year mark of being the Lead Minister here at Unity of Greater Portland. It has been an amazing journey and as we move toward the Annual Meeting on Sunday which for me represents the beginning of a new glorious year. We have so much to be thankful for as a community. The activities, classes, silent retreats and other events throughout the year give testimony to the amazing community here at Unity of Greater Portland. It is my greatest desire to celebrate the individual and collective spiritual transformation taking place in this community and that we embody our vision of “Centered in Divine Love we celebrate a spiritually transformed world.” This past Sunday (yeah…no snow) I continued the series The 5 Love Languages and focused on “receiving gifts.” Gifts are tangible symbols of love. What is one of the first thoughts you … Continue reading

The Five Love Languages: Quality Time

We continued this week with the series The Five Love Languages and I spoke about “quality time.” I used the biblical story of Martha and Mary to identify what your tendency might be.  Do you have a Mary tendency to spend quality time with the one you love or a Martha tendency to be distracted by the tasks at hand?  One is not better than the other; actually both are needed to have a balanced life. What is Quality Time? Quality time is when you give someone your undivided attention! Quality Time has to do  with focused attention. Here are some key points to help us understand about Quality Time.  Quality time is spending time together and engaging in quality conversation.  It is important to stay present to each other and don’t be multitasking while you are having quality time.  Listen attentively to what is being said and watch for feelings … Continue reading

The Five Love Languages: Words of Affirmation

As I continue with the series The Five Love Languages on Sunday based on the book by the same name written by Gary Chapman, we looked at “words of affirmation.” Mark Twain once said, “I can live for two months on a good compliment.” If we take Mark Twain literally, six compliments a year would have kept his emotional “love-tank” at the operational level. You, or your spouse, and I, will probably need many more than that! Psychologist William James said that possibly the deepest human need is the need to feel appreciated. Haven’t we all, at some time or other, felt that we just weren’t being appreciated – that we were simply being taken for granted? Let’s look at the word “affirmation.” To affirm something means to confirm its truth and to strengthen it. So when we says words of affirmation to someone whose love language is Words of … Continue reading

The Five Love Languages: Keeping Your Love Tank Full

Today I began a new series based on the book The Five Love Languages by Dr. Gary Chapman. The Five Love Languages is a revolutionary concept, because, once grasped, people begin to express and experience love like they never have before. Marriages, families, and friendships can be healed and reach new heights by paying attention to and applying the principles of the five love languages. This revolutionary concept helps people understand how to keep their “love tank” filled up. It also helps them understand how to effectively and appropriately love those they relate to according to the love language preferences of others. Chapman says: Most of us grow up learning the language of our parents and siblings, which becomes our primary or native language. Later we learn additional languages – but usually with much more effort. These become our secondary languages. We speak and understand best our native language. We … Continue reading